Holiday Reading

barry 224x300 Holiday ReadingA selection things I read or watched on my holidays, in case you missed them.

“Mass immigration or the welfare state? Because we may not be able to have both,” by James Bloodworth. A bit deeper than Chris Bryant. Although I do pause over the word “mass”.

A video of Jim Messina, the former Obama campaign data miner hired by David Cameron, via Political Betting. A horror movie for Labour.

“Please be quiet, Richard Dawkins, I’m begging, as a fan,” said Tom Chivers, joining Atheists Against Dawkins.

Norman Geras on Karl Marx’s anti-Semitism. Clear. Right. A companion piece to a troubling statistic from two years ago that cropped up at Harry’s Place yesterday. In 2011, 42 per cent of British people agreed that, “Israel is conducting a war of extermination against the Palestinians.” (My emphasis.) I have only now had a chance to check out the source. It appears respectable: a 1,000 sample in each of the countries surveyed, although the name of the polling organisation is not given.

And finally, from Sunday: “Dear Mr Cameron, Godfrey has a sore head and will be unable to do Political Correctness today.” Matthew d’Ancona.

And if you haven’t set off on holiday yet, you still have time to download the new edition of my Tony Blair: Prime Minister.

Picture via Sean Mulcahy

 

Leave a comment